Peace Like a River

The waves are rising higher and higher. It is strange, because it had been a beautiful day when I climbed onto the boat. This storm came out of nowhere, and now we’re stuck in the middle of the open ocean as it’s brewing over our heads.

I guess that’s life, right? One minute everything is going well, the next minute a storm appears out of nowhere and really catches us off guard.

And where is Jesus during this storm? The waves are rising so high that it crashes down into the boat, and that’s when I become afraid. I search for Jesus. Surely He is still around somewhere? But I don’t see Him as I scan the upper deck.

I finally find Jesus — but He is asleep! Waves are crashing into our boat, I am certain we will capsize, I just know I am going to drown, and all the while Jesus is sleeping peacefully?!

“JESUS!” I scream at Him. Doesn’t He see and feel and hear the storm we’re in? WAKE UP! WE ARE ABOUT TO DROWN!”

He opens His eyes and kind of scolds me a bit. “Where is your faith, Allie?” Then He stands up and scolds the storm, too. And the storm obeys. It is sunny again. All is well again, because Jesus said so.

Where was my faith?

I watch Jesus walk back across the boat and cross His arms behind His head. He falls back asleep. The earlier storm hasn’t bothered Him at all; He isn’t obsessing over what might’ve been, and He isn’t crushed with anxiety or fear that another storm that might crop up. He is sleeping peacefully with the sway of the boat.

I suppose when You are the God of the universe and control the winds and the rain, You get to sleep peacefully, knowing that the winds and rain don’t stand a chance against your commands. I want to be next to that Guy!

I suppose when you are a child of that God, you can go to sleep peacefully, too, knowing that the winds and rain don’t stand a chance against Your God’s commands.

Car accidents. Hospital visits. Cancer diagnoses. Heart attacks. Infertility. Tornados. Suicide. Unexplainable deaths. Divorces. Deception. All life’s little storms that appear out of nowhere.

Rest assured, Christian. No, really! Rest assured! The God of the universe is in the boat alongside you. He’s got peace like a river, not anxiety like a storm, and we can depend on Him to simply speak and calm it all down. It may not be all sunshine and rainbows just yet, but rest assured that you can rest in Christ Jesus. He’s sleeping during the storm because He’s not afraid of it all.

So we don’t have to be afraid of it, either.

What will you choose to do today? You can either stress over your storm and whatever life may look like, or you can rest peacefully with Jesus. You can trust He’s aware of the storm, and He’ll calm it down in due time. Until then, have faith! He’s in the boat!

I, personally, would like to rest.

With much love to my BloggerFam,

Allie


Then he got into the boat and his disciples followed him. Suddenly a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat. But Jesus was sleeping. The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!” He replied, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm. The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭8‬:‭23‬-‭27‬


Leave a comment